Decoding Cocktails's Substack
Decoding Cocktails
Podcast ep: 58: Jeremy Wochnick and Erin Nysse of The Barrel Mill
0:00
-51:47

Podcast ep: 58: Jeremy Wochnick and Erin Nysse of The Barrel Mill

Digging deep into the oak

Jeremy Wochnick and Erin Nysse work for The Barrel Mill (website, Instagram), a barrel cooperage in Minnesota. We met when they were exhibiting at the American Craft Spirits Association’s conference in Denver this year and had a great conversation. They agreed to sit down to talk all things barrels, infusion spirals, sustainability, and more.

Do you know someone who might enjoy this? Please share it.

Share

While I am pretty darn educated on spirits and cocktails, I am a geek for unaged spirits, so I don’t know as much about aged spirits as I should. Thankfully, Erin and Jeremy gave me a crash course.

Erin, Jeremy, and me at their booth

I used one of their infusion spirals to attempt a reposado-ish tequila. It says the spiral will impart flavor for roughly two weeks, but I found that after 24-ish hours it had taken on nice aromas and flavor without running over the tequila’s vegetal and earthy essence.

After 24 hours, you can see the difference between my reposado (left) and the original blanco (right)

Thanks for reading. Subscribe for free to receive new posts.

0 Comments
Decoding Cocktails's Substack
Decoding Cocktails
Join me in my deep dive into the spirits, cocktail, and hospitality industry as I interview people from around the field.